Australia cries in another penalty shootout

Australia cries in another penalty shootout. Chinese Taipei avenged their loss to Japan against Australia.

Chinese Taipei defeated Australia 6-0 in 10 extra innings in the second round of the 2023 Asian Professional Baseball Championship (APBC) qualifier at the Tokyo Dome in Japan on Sunday.

The Aussies dropped a double-header against South Korea the day before (Nov. 16).

Neither team scored for nine innings. The pitching staffs stood out.

Chinese Taipei started with Chen Kai, who pitched seven innings of two-hit ball, one walk, five strikeouts, and no runs. He was followed by Lin Hsiao-hsien (1⅓ innings) and Chiu Hsin-wei (⅔ innings) in scoreless relief.

Australia also had a relay performance from its pitching staff. Kai Hampton tossed three scoreless innings of four-hit ball, 카지노사이트 while Noah Wynyard (1 inning), Matthew Beatty (1 inning), Billy Parsons (1⅔ innings), Will Serif (1⅓ innings), and Dylan Clarke (1 inning) combined for a scoreless inning.

Eventually, the game went to extra innings.

Taiwan ended the game with a big inning. A sacrifice bunt by the leadoff hitter, Chiu Hsieh-chung, turned into a run-scoring single on a throwing error. Chen Che-hsien followed with a double. A wild pitch loaded the bases and Lin Zun-kai hit a grand slam to make it 6-0.

Chinese Taipei ended the game when Chiu Junwei retired the next batter without allowing a run.

Chinese Taipei head coach Chen Chin-feng said, “We played a good game today. The veterans did their job, and we got into a rhythm at the end.”

“I’m very happy to hit a home run,” said Lin Zun-kai, who hit the grand slam. It’s my first ten-run homer,” he smiled.

Coach Chen Jinfeng said, “Tomorrow’s game against Korea will be the same. We will give it our all and try to win. I hope our team will try harder and give everything we have and win the next game.”

“It’s good to go to two consecutive penalty shootouts, but disappointing to lose both times,” said Australia coach Dave Nielsen.

Chinese Taipei will face South Korea at 7 p.m. on Nov. 18.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *